UCLA professors awarded prestigious prizes in Lund

In 2012 the Crafoord prizes in Mathematics and Astronomy are for the first time awarded simultaneously as two separate prizes with a prize amount of SEK 4 million each.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics 2012 to Jean Bourgain, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA and Terence Tao, University of California, Los Angeles, USA,
“for their brilliant and groundbreaking work in harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, ergodic theory, number theory, combinatorics, functional analysis and theoretical computer science”.